The following guide provides information on how to diagnose messages you might encounter while merging versions and layout the steps in response to those messages. 

In this article:

Version cannot be merged

version cannot be merged.png

This message informs you that the version cannot be merged because it is lined up in the same origin path/branch as the current version (how is the origin path related to merging?). You will notice this message for other versions that are also lined up on the same path. 

Solution: The current and incoming versions should belong to distinct origin paths. (additional details are present in Merge-into-current-session documentation)

Cannot Merge Version

cannot merge-save first.png

This message appears when you attempt to merge any unsaved or pending changes, whether they are in the current or incoming versions.

Solution: Save/Publish the version in question before proceeding to merge.

Unable to Merge

This alert informs you that the merge operation has failed due to one or more reasons. Here are the possibilities:

  • "You do not have permission to edit JavaScript Extensions"

js permission error.png

This indicates certain changes contain one or more JavaScript Extensions that you are NOT permitted to access or edit. This error may occur when merging between versions or between concurrent users.

Solution: Ensure you are granted the "Manage Javascript Code Extension" permissions by your account admin.

manage js perm.png

  • "You do not have permission to resource locks"

RL error.png

This indicates that certain changes are secured by Resource Locks. You cannot perform the merge operation unless you have the required permissions to access or edit any resource locks. This error may occur when merging between versions or between concurrent users.

Solution: Ensure you are granted the "Manage Resource locks" permission by your account admin.

labels perm missing.png

  • "Current version is linked to the library"

linked library error.png

This informs you that one of the versions, either current or incoming, is still linked to a library. This scenario may occur when you attempt to merge between versions.

Merging is not supported for linked libraries.

Solution: Ensure to unlink the libraries from both current and incoming versions. To do that, go to Account Admin >> Manage Profiles and click "Remove" next to the library that needs to be unlinked.

Sorry, you don't have the required permission to perform this action:

save perm error.png

This message tells you that merge has failed because you are possibly missing the permissions to "Save" and/or "Save As" in the account.

Solution: Ensure you are granted "Save" and "Save As" permissions by your account admin.

manage save permission.png

Version history
Revision #:
11 of 11
Last update:
4 weeks ago
Updated by: