This article describes how to set up the Adobe Media Analytics (3.x SDK) tag in your Tealium iQ Tag Management account.

Adobe Media Analytics provides support for tracking video and ad metrics, including total views/impressions, time spent, and completion rates.

In this article:

Tag Tips

  • Adobe Media Analytics requires the Adobe Experience Cloud ID Service as well as AppMeasurement for JS to be loaded first, preferably bundled.
  • This tag is fired via "utag.track('video', data);" which should be implemented in your video event handlers.

Tag Configuration

First, go to the tag marketplace and add the Adobe Media Analytics (3.x SDK) tag (Learn more about how to add a tag).

After adding the tag, configure the following settings:

  • Tracking Server: Adobe Media Analytics tracking server. This field is required (example.hb.omtrdc.net).
  • Publisher: Publisher name as provided by Adobe. This field is required.
  • Use SSL: Specifies whether or not to send heartbeat calls over HTTPS. The default value is false, meaning SSL is disabled. Set the value to true to send tracking calls securely.
  • S-Object Name: Required. Set your own custom s-object variable name. Use defaults if not sure.
  • Video Platform Name: The name of the online video platform through which content gets distributed. This field is optional.
  • Video Player SDK: The version of the video player app/SDK. This field is optional.

Data Mappings

Mapping is the process of sending data from a data layer variable to the corresponding destination variable of the vendor tag. For instructions on how to map a variable to a tag destination, see data mappings.

The available categories are:

Standard

Variable Description
Adobe Media Analytics Tracking Server (tracking_server)
Adobe Media Analytics Publisher (publisher)
Adobe Media Analytics SSL Flag (ssl)
Adobe Media Analytics Channel (syndication_channel)
Adobe Media Analytics Video Platform Name (online_video_platform_name)
Adobe Media Analytics Player SDK (player_sdk)
Adobe Media Analytics Debug Logging Flag (debug_logging)

Video Events

Variable Description
Video Load (video_load) video_load
Video Start (video_start) video_start
Video Playing (video_playing) video_playing
Video Pause (video_pause) video_pause
Video Play (video_play) video_play
Video Stop (video_stop) video_stop
Video Resume (video_resume) video_resume
Video Complete (video_complete) video_complete
Video Seek (video_seek) video_seek
Video Buffer (video_buffer) video_buffer
Video Skip (video_skip) video_skip
Video Error (video_error) video_error

Video

Variable Description
Video ID (video.id)
Video Title (video.title)
Video Length (video.length)
Video Current Playhead (video.current_playhead)
Video Stream Type (video.stream_type)
Video Is Full Episode (video.is_full_episode)
Video Channel Name (video.channel_name)
Video Series Name (video.series_name)
Video Player Name (video.player_name)
Video Is Ad (video.is_ad)
Video FPS (video.fps)
Video Bit Rate (video.bit_rate)
Video Startup Time (video.startup_time)
Video Dropped Frames (video.dropped_frames)
Video Error ID (video.error_id)
Video Error Is Fatal (video.error_is_fatal)

Chapter

Variable Description
Chapter Name (chapter.name)
Chapter Length (chapter.length)
Chapter Position (chapter.position)
Chapter Start Time (chapter.start_time)
Chapter Custom Metadata (chapter_meta_data.custom)

Ad

Variable Description
Ad Break Name (adbreak.name)
Ad Break Position (adbreak.position)
Ad Break Start Time (adbreak.start_time)
Ad ID (ad.id)
Ad Title (ad.title)
Ad Type (ad.type)
Ad Length (ad.length)
Ad Position (ad.position)

Video Metadata

Variable Description
Video Custom Metadata (meta_data.custom)
Video Metadata Show (meta_data.show)
Video Metadata Season (meta_data.season)
Video Metadata Episode (meta_data.episode)
Video Metadata Asset (meta_data.asset)
Video Metadata Genre (meta_data.genre)
Video Metadata Air Date (meta_data.airDate)
Video Metadata Digital Air Date (meta_data.digitalDate)
Video Metadata Rating (meta_data.rating)
Video Metadata Originator (meta_data.originator)
Video Metadata Network (meta_data.network)
Video Metadata Type (meta_data.type)
Video Metadata Ad Load (meta_data.adLoad)
Video Metadata Day Part (meta_data.dayPart)
Video Metadata Feed (meta_data.feed)
Video Metadata Format (meta_data.format)

Ad Metadata

Variable Description
Ad Custom Metadata (ad_meta_data.custom)
Ad Metadata Advertiser (ad_meta_data.advertiser)
Ad Metadata Campaign (ad_meta_data.campaign)
Ad Metadata Creative (ad_meta_data.creative)
Ad Metadata Placement (ad_meta_data.placement)
Ad Metadata Site (ad_meta_data.site)
Ad Metadata Creative URL (ad_meta_data.creativeURL)
Public