This article describes how to set up the Google Analytics 4 tag (GA4) in your Tealium iQ Tag Management account.

In this article:

Tag Tips

  • Use mappings to:
    • Dynamically override the E-Commerce extension values
    • Setup event triggers
  • Supports the following E-Commerce extension values:
    • Order ID
    • Order Total
    • Shipping Amount
    • Tax Amount
    • Store
    • Promo Code
    • Customer ID
    • List of Product IDs
    • List of Names
    • List of Brands
    • List of Categories
    • List of Prices
    • List of Quantities
    • List of Discounts

Tag Configuration

First, go to the tag marketplace and add the Google Analytics 4 (GA4) tag. Learn more about how to add a tag.

After adding the tag, configure the following settings:

  • Measurement ID
    • Measurement ID of the Google Analytics property to which you want to send data.
    • Example: G-12345678M
    • Use a comma-separated list to send data for multiple properties.
  • Global Object
    • The name of the Global Object used for the event queue.
    • If not specified, "gtag" is used.
    • Not required for most implementations.
  • Data Layer Name
    • By default, the data layer initiated and referenced by the global site tag is named dataLayer.
    • Rename the data layer only if your project requires a separate name.
  • Send Page View
    • By default, Page View events are automatically recorded for each page on your site.
    • If you do not want the snippet to send a Page View event to Google Analytics, set the this option to false.
  • Clear Vars
    • Clears items usually set for the lifetime of the tracker after each tracking request

Data Mappings

Mapping is the process of sending data from a data layer variable to the corresponding destination variable of the vendor tag. For instructions on how to map a variable to a tag destination, see data mappings.

The available categories are:

Standard

Variable Description

measurement_id

  • Measurement ID

clear_global_vars

  • Boolean
  • Clear Vars
cookie_domain (config.cookie_domain)
cookie_expires (config.cookie_expires) [Integer]
cookie_prefix (config.cookie_prefix)
cookie_update (config.cookie_update) [Boolean]
cookie_flags (config.cookie_flags)
send_page_view (config.send_page_view) [Boolean]
Allow Advertising Features (config.allow_google_signals) [Boolean]
Allow Advertising Personalizations (config.allow_ad_personalization_signals) [Boolean]
Transport Type (config.transport_type)
page_title (config.page_title)
page_location (config.page_location)
page_path (config.page_path)
cookie_name (config.cookie_name)
Campaign Id (config.campaign.id)
Campaign Name (config.campaign.name)
Campaign Source (config.campaign.source)
Campaign Medium (config.campaign.medium)
Campaign Content (config.campaign.content)
Campaign Term/Keyword (config.campaign.term)
Optimize Container ID (config.optimize_id)
Use AMP Client ID (config.use_amp_client_id) [Boolean]
Sample Rate (config.sample_rate)
Site Speed Sample Rate (config.site_speed_sample_rate)
User ID (customer_id) (Overrides _ccustid)
Client ID (config.client_id)

Event

Variable Description
Event Category (event.event_category)
Event Label (event.event_label)
Event / Timing Value (value)
Timing Variable Name (name)
Exception Description (description)
Exception Fatal (fatal) [Boolean]
Search Term (search_term)
Method (method)
Content Type (content_type)
Content ID (content_id)
Destination (destination)
Start Date (start_date) [YYYYMMDD]
End Date (end_date) [YYYYMMDD]
Custom Event Data (event.custom)
Non-Interaction (event.non_interaction)
Override Default Routing (event.send_to)
Event Callback (event.event_callback)

Event Triggers

Variable Description
exception exception
generate_lead generate_lead
join_group join_group
login login
Page View page_view
screen_view screen_view
search search
select_content select_content
share share
sign_up sign_up
timing_complete timing_complete
add_payment_info add_payment_info
add_shipping_info add_shipping_info
add_to_cart add_to_cart
add_to_wishlist add_to_wishlist
begin_checkout begin_checkout
purchase purchase
refund refund
remove_from_cart remove_from_cart
select_item select_item
select_promotion select_promotion
view_cart view_cart
view_item view_item
view_item_list view_item_list
view_promotion view_promotion
earn_virtual_currency earn_virtual_currency
level_end level_end
level_start level_start
level_up level_up
post_score post_score
spend_virtual_currency spend_virtual_currency
tutorial_begin tutorial_begin
tutorial_complete tutorial_complete
unlock_achievement unlock_achievement
Custom Event customEvent

Game

Variable Description
Achievement Id (achievement_id)
Character (character)
Group Id (group_id)
Item Name (item_name)
Level (level)
Level Name (level_name)
Score (score)
Success (success)
Virtual Currency Name (virtual_currency_name)
Virtual Currency Value (value)

App / Screen Tracking

Variable Description
Screen Name (screen_name)
Application Name (config.app_name)
Application ID (config.app_id)
Application Version (config.app_version)
Application Installer ID (config.app_installer_id)

Enhanced E-Commerce

Variable Description
Order ID (order_id) (Overrides _corder)
Order Total (order_total) (Overrides _ctotal)
Shipping Amount (order_shipping) (Overrides _cship)
Tax Amount (order_tax) (Overrides _ctax)
Store (order_store) (Overrides _cstore)
Currency (order_currency) (Overrides _ccurrency)
Promo Code (order_coupon_code) (Overrides _cpromo)
List of Product IDs (product_id) (Overrides _cprod) [Array]
List of Names (product_name) (Overrides _cprodname) [Array]
List of SKUs (product_sku) (Overrides _csku) [Array]
List of Brands (product_brand) (Overrides _cbrand) [Array]
List of Categories (product_category) (Overrides _ccat) [Array]
List of Sub Categories (product_subcategory) (Overrides _ccat2) [Array]
List of Quantities (product_quantity) (Overrides _cquan) [Array]
List of Prices (product_unit_price) (Overrides _cprice) [Array]
List of Discounts (product_discount) (Overrides _cpdisc) [Array]
List of Promotion Ids (product_promotion_id) [Array]
List of Promotion Names (product_promotion_name) [Array]
List of Creative Names (product_creative_name) [Array]
List of Creative Slots (product_creative_slot) [Array]
List of Location Ids (product_location_id) [Array]
List of Indexes (product_index) [Array]
List of Item List Names (product_item_list_name) [Array]
List of Item List Ids (product_item_list_id) [Array]
List of Affiliations (product_affiliation) [Array]

IAB Transparency and Consent Framework v2

Variable Description
Enable TCF Support (gtag_enable_tcf_support) (true/false)
Version history
Last update:
2 weeks ago
Updated by: