This article describes how to set up the KAYAK tag in your Tealium iQ Tag Management account.

In this article:

Tag Tips

  • Use event mappings to configure when confirmation and cancellation pixels are fired.
  • The Commission Currency value will default to the e-commerce Currency value if one is not provided.

Tag Configuration

First, go to the tag marketplace and add the KAYAK tag (Learn more about how to add a tag).

After adding the tag, configure the following settings:

  • Partner Code
    • Supplied by KAYAK, this is the internal KAYAK code.
  • Click ID Query Parameter Name
    • Name of the query parameter that will be used to pass the click id in the tracking url.

Data Mappings

Mapping is the process of sending data from a data layer variable to the corresponding destination variable of the vendor tag. For instructions on how to map a variable to a tag destination, see data mappings.

The available categories are:

Tag Configurations

Variable Description
Partner Code (partner_code)
Booked On Date (bookedon)
Kayak Commission Amount (kayakcommission)
Commission Currency (commissioncurrency)
Booking Type (bookingtype)
Kayak Commission Percentage (commissionpercentage)
Custom Field 1 (tag1)
Custom Field 2 (tag2)

E-Commerce

Variable Description
Order ID/Booking ID (order_id) (Overrides _corder)
Order Total (order_total) (Overrides _ctotal)
Currency (order_currency) (Overrides _ccurrency)

Hotel

Variable Description
Booking Check In Date (checkin)
Booking Check Out Date (checkout)
Booked Property ID (hid)
Number of Travelers (travelers)
Number of Rooms (rooms)

Flight

Variable Description
Itinerary Description (itin)
Origin Airport Code (origin)
Destination Airport Code (destination)
Fare Class (fareClass)
Cabin Type (cabinType)

Car

Variable Description
Pick Up Date (pickup)
Drop Off Date (dropoff)
Pick Up Location ID (pickupid)
Drop Off Location ID (dropoffid)
Car Agency ID (agency)

Events

Variable Description
Confirmation Confirmation
Cancellation Cancellation
Public