Before we conclude this guide, it is important to understand how the save and publish process works and how to navigate your version history. This section will explain the difference between Save, Save as, and Publish and how to view your version history.

Saving

When you add, edit, or delete an element in your account you must save your changes to preserve that work. If you logout or close your browser without saving, your changes will be discarded. Similarly, your changes will not be visible to other users of your account until you have saved them.

The Save/Publish button will turn orange to indicate that there are unsaved changes:
getting-started-save-publish-button.png

In the save dialog box you have the option to "Save as", in which you must set a descriptive title for the new version.

getting-started-eventstream-save-publish.png

This option allows you to re-publish (rollback) to the previous version. If you only "Save" your changes, you cannot revert to the state that existed prior to your changes.

Publishing

Once you save your changes, you can log out or close the browser and your configuration will be preserved for you or the next user that logs into the account. However, until you publish your changes, they won't be activated.

Publishing affects your connectors and actions. For example, you could set up a new connector action and save it without publishing and the action would not get triggered. But once you publish, the changes are activated and connector actions begin triggering and sending data to your vendors.

EventStream only has one publish environment, the production one, so every publish affects your production environment. In lieu of a QA environment, you can create "test" attributes that you populate during your testing then use to isolate new configurations such as event feeds and enrichments.

Versions

Your save and publish history is accessed by selecting Server-Side Versions in the sidebar. Your save history is organized into versions. When you use Save As to save a version, you create a new version and can revert back to a previous version. When use Save, you create a new revision, typically intended for minor changes, and cannot revert back to a previous revision.

Write descriptive notes when you save. It's a great habit to form that your co-workers will appreciate. Plus, it will remind you of what you did. You'd be surprised how easily you can forget your own work!

Well, that about wraps it up! Click Next to see additional resources.