Before we continue, it is important to understand how the save and publish process works and how to navigate your version history. This section will explain the difference between Save and Save As, when to use publish environments, and how to view your version history.

Saving

When you add, edit, or delete an element in TiQ, the interface displays orange visual cues to alert you of unsaved changes. If you logout or close your browser without saving, your changes will be discarded.

The following visual cues indicate unsaved changes:

 

Sidebar

getting-started-iq-unsaved-changed-sidebar.png

Individual Items

getting-started-iq-unsaved-changes-asterisk.png

Save/Publish Button

getting-started-iq-unsaved-changes-button.png

Publishing

Once you save your changes, you can log out or close the browser and your configuration will be preserved for you or the next user that logs into the account.

Saving ensures that you don't lose your work between working sessions in TiQ, whereas publishing pushes your changes to the Universal Tag (utag.js) loaded on your site. After all of your changes are eventually released to your production website, there are three publish environments to support a proper release cycle: Dev, QA, and Prod. Each environment uses a separate utag.js file for your different website environments. Typically, you will only need two environments: one for testing (QA) and one for your production site (Prod).

Versions

Your save and publish history is displayed by selecting Client-Side Versions from the sidebar. Your history is organized into versions and revisions. Each version has a name and contains one or more revisions. When you use Save As, it creates a new version which allows you to revert back to a previous version. When use Save, it creates a new revision within the current version, which is typically used for minor changes. You cannot revert back to a previous revision within a version.

Click Next to learn about saving your changes.