Reply
Highlighted
Visitor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎09-22-2015

Cross-domain it is not necessary for subdomains

[ Edited ]

Hi all,

 

We have set up the cross-domain tracking following the instructions of this link:

https://community.tealiumiq.com/t5/Tags/Setting-Up-Google-Universal-Analytics-Cross-Domain-Tracking/...

cross-tracking domains: example.com,another-example.com

cross-domain tracking: on

 

But we have noticed that the links are being decorated also when the URL goes to another subdomain:
www.example.com to booking.example.com.

I think this is not necessary with Google Universal Analytics.
Are we missing anything in our configuration?

Thank you.

Reply
0 Kudos
Tealium Employee
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎09-01-2015

Re: Cross-domain it is not necessary for subdomains

[ Edited ]

@vicente_peris, as I understand it, it depends on the site security policy on that website - some will accept 1st party cookies for the parent domain, some will only accept 1st party cookies for that exact server. 

Tealium Employee
Posts: 210
Registered: ‎09-01-2015

Re: Cross-domain it is not necessary for subdomains

@vicente_peris

 

You have the subdomain example.com added to your list.

This covers all your subdomains so any domain that is *.example.com will be covered and also linked up.

 

Hopefully that helps explain what is going on.

 

Adrian

 

Visitor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎09-22-2015

Re: Cross-domain it is not necessary for subdomains

Hi @adrian_browning

 

Yes, I have added the domain example.com, so it covers all subdomains (www.example.com, shop.example.com, booking.example.com, etc.),. However, the URL does not need to be decorated in Universal Google Analytics  because the cookie keeps the data.

 

Regards

Reply
0 Kudos
Tealium Employee
Posts: 210
Registered: ‎09-01-2015

Re: Cross-domain it is not necessary for subdomains

@vicente_peris 

 

From my understanding you do not need to include the example.com in the list as the cookie will do the matching for you.

As that will be set on the domain  example.com. You only need to add domains that are explictily different e.g. www.another-example.com.

 

Adrian

Reply
0 Kudos
Visitor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎09-22-2015

Re: Cross-domain it is not necessary for subdomains

Hi @adrian_browning

 

If I don't include the domain example.com when I link from www.another-example.com to example.com the URL is not decorated.

 

Vicente.

Reply
0 Kudos
Tealium Employee
Posts: 210
Registered: ‎09-01-2015

Re: Cross-domain it is not necessary for subdomains

Hi @vicente_peris

 

If you are still having this issue, can I suggest raising a support request, and one of the support team can walk through this with you.

https://community.tealiumiq.com/t5/custom/page/page-id/support-contact-form

 

Adrian

Reply
0 Kudos