How to use previous version instead of using the latest version?

TracyAu
Visitor
TracyAu

Dear all,

Is there any way of using the previous version instead of latest version in TiQ for undergoing some testing?

Or we can only just save the previous versions to be the latest versions every time in order to use it, as the TiQ can only let the latest version to be in use?

5 REPLIES 5

How to use previous version instead of using the latest version?

Srinivasan
Super Contributor
Srinivasan Super Contributor
Hello @TracyAu,

AFAIK we cannot validate the previous version instead of latest publish version on testing perspective.

Please go through following link for your perusal https://community.tealiumiq.com/t5/iQ-Tag-Management/Versions/ta-p/5025#version_control

Hope it helps! Happy Learning!!!

How to use previous version instead of using the latest version?

STerjeson
Regular Visitor
STerjeson Regular Visitor

Hi @TracyAu,

This sounds like a situation where utilizing the different environments would be an effective method of testing the versions against each other. As you are doing testing you should be able to set which environment you want to use using the environment switcher. You can publish whatever version you want to any Tealium environment, previous, latest, 2 versions back, as needed. You could even set up a custom environment called "Previous" or "UAT" to publish to and use for testing specifically.

Cheers

How to use previous version instead of using the latest version?

TracyAu
Visitor
TracyAu

Dear all,

Thanks a lot for your reply !

Since Tealium IQ can only publish the latest version every time, so it is not available to simply rollback to use the previous version instead without changing any element in previous version, and in my opinion, it is somehow a bit inconvenience to duplicating the previous version to be a latest version to handle the issue and it may not be a best practice to doing so as it may be difficult to maintain the contents of different versions with duplicated version exist.

And utilizing different environments may be useful for testing, but I am afraid it may not be available for production stage to rollback a version to previous one.

 

How to use previous version instead of using the latest version?

per_lundqvist
Frequent Visitor
per_lundqvist Frequent Visitor

Maybe I am breaking into open doors, but I get the feeling that the word "testing" is a bit ambigous here. 

You can, @TracyAu, always rollback (or forward) to any previously published version. In any of the environments. This is not 'testing' in my opinion, it is a good and safe way to revert to a known previously stable/reliable version. 

Elaborate testing I think should be done in DEV or QA, not the least because it is easier to be a bit bolder when PROD is not involved. The environment switcher is a necessity to make the proper version appear in the desired environment at every time.

Small and very targeted testing can - and sometime must - be done in PROD. Nothing wrong with that, but testing PROD by switching the full environment back and forth sounds dangerous to me and not the way (I think) TIQ is meant to be used.

 

Highlighted

How to use previous version instead of using the latest version?

TracyAu
Visitor
TracyAu

Dear @per_lundqvist,

I am afraid that rollback to previous published version is not available as the "Save/Publish" button is only able to save the current version as the latest one and publish for deployment regardless of the environment I used, which means if rollback to old version it is need to save the version as a latest version, that is what I want to avoid as this may leads to creation of some duplicated versions. No matter what environments I use (testing or production), the issue is exist.

Screen Shot 2018-04-19 at 12.44.18 PM.png

Of course, testing should be done in testing environment instead of production, however, even in testing environment it is not able to simply rollback to publish previous version at present.

And rollback version is not just important in testing stage, it is more important in production stage. For example, users may need to rollback to publish previous version due to sudden policy change of their companies, but they will not want to trigger the creation of duplicated version.

And so I just wonder if there is any way to publish previous version rather that only able to publish latest version at present.