This article describes how to set up the Beamer tag in your Tealium iQ Tag Management account.

In this article:

Table of Contents Placeholder

How it Works

Beamer is a notification center and changelog plugin that lets you send announcements to users and site visitors for important news, latest products, special offers, and more.

Tag Tips

  • Widget configurations are set via mappings.
  • If you do not add an Element ID by default, Beamer will display a notification icon in the bottom-right corner of your page.
  • You can provide the callback, onclick, onopen, and onclose functions by providing via mappings either the name of the functions (as a string) or a reference to the functions. If providing the name of the function, it is assumed that the function is defined at the window level.

Tag Configuration

First, go to Tealium's tag marketplace and add the Beamer tag (Learn more about how to add a tag).

After adding the tag, configure the following settings:

  • Product ID
    The Product ID is the unique identification code that appears in the top bar of your Beamer dashboard.
  • Selector
    HTML identifier for the DOM element to be used as a trigger to show the panel.

Data Mappings

Mapping is the process of sending data from a data layer variable to the corresponding destination variable of the vendor tag. For instructions on how to map a variable to a tag destination, see Data Mappings.

The available categories are:

Standard

Variable Description
Beamer Customer ID (product_id)

Widget Configurations

Variable Description
Selector ID (selector)
Display Mode (display)
Display Position (display_position)
Top Offset (top)
Right Offset (right)
Bottom Offset (bottom)
Left Offset (left)
Embed Toggle ["true"/"false"] (embed)
Button Toggle ["true"/"false"] (button)
Button Position (button_position)
Icon (icon)
Bounce Toggle ["true"/"false"] (bounce)
Notification Prompt (notification_prompt)
Notification Prompt Delay (notification_prompt_delay)
Language (language)
Filter (filter)
Filter By URL Toggle ["true"/"false"] (filter_by_url)
Mobile Toggle ["true"/"false"] (mobile)
Lazy Toggle ["true"/"false"] (lazy)
Alert Toggle ["true"/"false"] (alert)
Delay (delay)
Callback Function (callback)
Onclick Function (onclick)
Onopen Function (onopen)
Onclose Function (onclose)

User Data

Variable Description
User First Name (user_firstname)
User Last Name (user_lastname)
User Email  
User ID (user_id)

Button Position

Variable Description
Bottom Left (bottom-left) bottom-left
Bottom Right (bottom-right) bottom-right
Top Left (top-left) top-left
Top Right (top-right) top-right

Display

Variable Description
Left (left) left
Right (right) right
In-app (in-app) in-app
Popup (popup) popup

Display Position

Variable Description
Bottom (bottom) bottom
Bottom Left (bottom-left) bottom-left
Bottom Right (bottom-right) bottom-right
Left (left) left
Left Bottom (left-bottom) left-bottom
Left Top (left-top) left-top
Right (right) right
Right Bottom (right-bottom) right-bottom
Right Top (right-top) right-top
Top (top) top
Top Left (top-left) top-left
Top Right (top-right) top-right

Icon

Variable Description
Bell Full (bell_full) bell_full
Bell Lines (bell_lines) bell_lines
Flame (flame) flame
Flame Alt (flame_alt) flame_alt
Alert Bubble (alert_bubble) alert_bubble
Alert Circle (alert_circle) alert_circle
Bullhorn (bullhorn) bullhorn
Thumbtack (thumbtack) thumbtack

Notification Prompt

Variable Description
Popup (popup) popup
Sidebar (sidebar) sidebar