This article describes how to manage concurrent users in Tealium iQ (TiQ) and describes common scenarios that arise when collaborating on profile management.

Table of Contents Placeholder

How it Works

Concurrent user functionality in TiQ offers the following features:

  • Profile Level Concurrency
    Concurrent user tracking occurs at the Profile level. This means that concurrent users in TiQ that are editing the same profile will receive invitations to merge each other's changes, even if they are saving to different versions.
  • Continuous Merging
    You can merge another user's in-progress profile changes multiple times before saving those changes. This allows you to better collaborate over a period of time on a single profile update.
  • Overwrite Protection
    To help prevent accidental overwrites, TiQ prevents concurrent users from saving changes within one minute of each other. If you go to the Save/Publish screen less than a minute after a previous save, a time displays that counts down until the next time you can safely save your own changes. The maximum time set is 60 seconds.
  • Guaranteed Latest Version
    As part of overwrite protection, publishing changes to a profile prompts concurrent users to merge the new changes when the publish completes, not when the publish. This prevents situations in which a user may start to edit while a publish is in progress. For example, a user could be making changes to a profile version that is unknowingly outdated by only a few minutes and would lose the original user's changes when they save.
  • Lock Profile
    You can use the Lock Profile setting in General Publishing to disable concurrent users from editing a profile.
    For more information, see: Publish Configuration.

The following restrictions apply to concurrent user management in TiQ:

  • Libraries Not Supported
    You cannot merge changes to or from a profile version that is linked to a library.
    For more information, see: Merging Versions.
  • Resource Locks Enforced
    You cannot merge changes that include a resource lock if that lock would prevent your user account from saving those changes.
    For more information, see: Resource Locks.
  • Merge Conflicts
    When merging changes that include two different configurations of the same element, you must choose which version of that element to keep.
    For more information, see: Merging Versions.

Viewing and Communicating with Concurrent Users

When there are multiple users logged in to the same profile, the concurrent users icon displays next to the profile name in Tealium iQ for both users.

Use the following steps to view and communicate with other users:

  1. Click the Concurrent Users icon.
    WhiteUI_TiQ_ConcurrentUsersTiQ_Collaboration Icon.png
    The Concurrent Users dialog displays a list of other users that are currently logged in and working on that profile, including each user's email address, active profile version, and status if there are pending changes.
  2. To communicate with the other users and coordinate collaboration, type in the text field and click Post.
    WhiteUI_TiQ_Concurrent Users TiQ_Post Message to Other Users.png
  3. Click Close to close this window.
    You can click the collaboration icon to reopen the window at any time.

Collaboration Workflows

When another concurrent user saves changes to the profile, you are prompted to integrate those changes into your working environment. Your options are dependent on whether you have unsaved changes of your own. The following scenarios assume that before any changes are made, everyone is working on the latest published version of a profile.

Scenario 1

  • Scenario
    You do not have any unsaved changes when a concurrent user saves changes.
  • Result
    Since you have no unsaved changes, you are prompted to load the new version of the profile.
    WhiteUI_TiQ_Concurrent Users TiQ_Concurrent Users Save and Publish Notification.png
    Select Load new version and then click OK.
    When complete, t
    he profile will reload with the newest changes.

Scenario 2

  • Scenario
    You have unsaved changes when a concurrent user saves changes and you choose the Merge the new version into your current work option.
  • Result
    You are prompted to merge the changes into your own so that your next save includes both sets of changes.
    WhiteUI_TiQ_Concurrent Users TiQ_Merge New Version Into Your Current Work.png
    For more information, see:
    Merging Versions.

Scenario 3

  • Scenario
    You have unsaved changes when a concurrent user saves changes and you choose the Continue working and save later option.
  • Result
    The next time you save, you are prompted to merge the newer changes into your version or create a separate profile version.
    WhiteUI_TiQ_Managing Concurrent Users TiQ_Merge Their Changes With Your Changes.png
    For more information, see: Merging Versions.

Scenario 4

  • Scenario
    With the Lock Profile setting enabled, you have not made changes when a concurrent user starts making changes.
    Result
    You will be notified that another user has begun making changes and you will be prevented from saving until the concurrent user's changes are either saved or discarded.
    WhiteUI_TiQ_ConcurrentUsersTiQ_Concurrent Notification.png
    For more information, see:
    Publish Configuration.

Scenario 5

  • Scenario
    You visit the Save/Publish screen and find that you cannot save your changes immediately.
  • Result
    To prevent accidental overwrites of each other's changes, TiQ prevents concurrent users from saving changes to a profile within one minute of each other. An informational message with a countdown timer displays to indicate that another user has saved less than a minute ago. Once the save completes, other users can save changes.

Merging Changes

If you choose to merge changes into the profile you're currently working on, you are prompted with the Merge Changes dialog, which shows all elements that have been added, changed, or removed, and allows you to review the details of each change before choosing to accept them.
For more information, see: Merging Versions.