Concurrent Users

Concurrent Users

by ‎01-24-2018 05:04 PM - edited ‎02-05-2018 12:12 PM (1,047 Views)

As of January 2018, some significant upgrades have been made to the way multiple users collaborate on profile management. See the Overview of Updates section for a list of the new features.

This article outlines how Tealium iQ handles concurrent working users, and describes common scenarios that arise when collaborating on profile management.

Table of Contents Placeholder

Overview of Updates

Concurrent user functionality underwent a upgrade in January 2018 to introduce the following new features:

  • Profile Level Concurrency: Concurrent user tracking now happens at the profile level instead of at the version level. This means that concurrent users editing the same profile will now receive invitations to merge each other's changes, even when saving to different versions.
  • Continuous Merging: You can now merge another user's in-progress profile changes multiple times before choosing to save those changes. This allows you to better collaborate over a period of time on a single profile update.
  • Overwrite Protection: To help prevent accidental overwrites, Tealium iQ will now prevent concurrent users from saving changes within one minute of each other. Any users visiting the Save/Publish screen less than a minute after a previous save will see a timer counting down until the next time they can safely save their own changes (max 60 seconds).
  • Guaranteed Latest Version: Overwrite Protection: Publishing changes to a profile now prompts concurrent users to merge the new changes not when the publish starts, but when it completes. This prevents occasional situations where a user starts to edit while a publish is in progress, thus making changes to a profile version which is unknowingly outdated within a few minutes, and losing the original user's changes when they save.

The following features have not changed, and continue to operate as before:

  • Libraries Not Supported: You still cannot merge changes to or from a profile version that is linked to a library. For more information, see: Merging Versions.
  • Lock Profile: You can still disable concurrent users from editing a profile by using the Lock Profile setting in the General Publishing settings. For more information, see: Publish Configuration.
  • Resource Locks Enforced: You still cannot merge changes that include a resource lock if that lock would prevent your user account from saving those changes. For more information, see: Resource Locks.
  • Merge Conflicts: When merging changes that include two different configurations of the same element, you still must choose which version of that element to keep. For more information, see: Merging Versions.

Viewing and Communicating with Concurrent Users

When multiple users are logged on to a profile, each will see the concurrent users icon (groupicon.png) next to the profile name in Tealium iQ. Clicking it will open the Concurrent Users modal window that shows all other logged-in users working on that profile. This window displays each user's email address, active profile version, and status indicating if there are pending changes.

Use this window to send messages to other users to coordinate collaboration.

Tealium_iQ_-_Tag_Management.png

Collaboration Workflows

When another concurrent user saves changes to the profile, you will be prompted to integrate those changes into your working environment. The options available to you at that point are dependent on whether you have any unsaved changes of your own. 

The following scenarios assume that before any changes are made, everyone is working on the latest published version of a profile.

Scenario: You do not have any unsaved changes when a concurrent user saves changes.

Result: Since you don't have unsaved changes, you'll be prompted to load the new version of the profile. The profile will reload with the newest changes.

Tealium_iQ_-_Tag_Management.png

Scenario: You have unsaved changes when a concurrent user saves changes and you choose the option Merge the new version into your current work.

Result: You'll be prompted to merge the changes into your own, so that your next save will include both sets of changes. For more information, see: Merging Versions.

Tealium_iQ_-_Tag_Management.png

Scenario: You have unsaved changes when a concurrent user saves changes and you choose the option Continue working and save later.

Result: The next time you save, you'll be prompted to merge the newer changes into your version, or create a separate profile version altogether. For more information, see: Merging Versions.

Tealium_iQ_-_Tag_Management.png

Scenario: With the Lock Profile setting enabled, you have not made changes when a concurrent user starts making changes.

Result: You will be notified that another user has begun making changes and you will be prevented from saving until the concurrent user's changes are either saved or discarded. For more information, see: Publish Configuration.

Tealium_iQ_-_Tag_Management.png

Scenario: You visit the Save/Publish screen to find that you cannot save your changes immediately.

Result: To prevent accidental overwrites of each other's changes, Tealium iQ now prevents concurrent users from saving changes to a profile within one minute of each other. The countdown timer indicates that another user has saved less than a minute ago, and once it completes, other users will be able to save changes as well.

Tealium_iQ_-_Tag_Management.png

Merging Changes

If you choose to merge changes into the profile you're currently working on, you'll be prompted with the Merge Changes window. This shows all the elements that have been added, changed, or removed, and allows you to review the details of changes before choosing to accept them.

For more information, see: Merging Versions.

Tealium_iQ_-_Tag_Management.png