Back

This article describes how to bring in changes from concurrent users of the same profile version.

 In this article:

Table of Contents Placeholder 

In a locked profile, only one user is allowed to modify a version at any given time. But in the case of an unlocked profile, several users are able to make changes in the same version at the same time. In the event that one of them saves or publishes their version first, the remaining concurrent users are alerted to the new change.

 

In this event, the remaining users have the opportunity to salvage any changes they made in that version before it was overwritten. This is made possible by Merge Changes, a feature built into Tealium iQ for resolving concurrent user situations. This feature is automatically invoked the instant it detects a combination of saved and unsaved changes inside the same version. It then allows concurrent users to merge their unsaved changes with the saved changes in order to keep from losing their efforts.

 

 The Merge Changes feature does not support Profile Inheritance (Libraries).

How Merge Changes works

In this scenario, User A is editing a certain Version X and overwrites it with Save/Publish just when User B is also editing it. Version X now has a new revision, along with unsaved changes. What can User B do to salvage their changes? There are two options:

  • Merge and Save As: Keeps B's and A's changes together in a new version.
  • Save As without merging: Discards User A's changes and keeps B's changes only in a new version.

merge dialog for concurrent users.png

Merging your changes with another user's saved changes

The "new revision" alert message in your version is a cue for you to take action. To bring concurrent changes into your version,

  1. Click the Save/Publish button.
    new revision alert.png
  2. In the next dialog box, select the first option, then click Continue to Merge.
    merge options.png
  3. In the next window, you are presented a list of the other user's changes that were saved ahead. Check the items you wish to merge into your version. Unchecked items are NOT merged.
    their changes.png 
  4. Review the changes in the confirmation window and click Merge to complete.
    confirm their changes.png

     

  5. Save/Publish to place all the changes into a new version.Save As-Merge.png

 

 Concurrent users will not see your new version unless they refresh their Tealium iQ session.

 

Saving your changes without merging

If you decide to keep your changes only and discard the other user's changes, your best best is to perform a Save As without merging. To do that:

 

  1. Click the Save/Publish button.
    new revision alert.png

     

  2. In the next dialog box, select the second option, then click Continue to Save/Publish.
    Save As Only.png

    Because you are not merging anything, you will NOT be presented the list of saved changes.

  3. Click Save/Publish to place your changes into a new version.Save As-No Merge.png 

Watch this video tutorial on how to merge changes between concurrent users. ]

 

Resolving conflicts before merging

Conflicts arise when you to attempt to merge the saved and unsaved instances of the same Tealium iQ element. This is typically the case when the element is modified by several users at the same time. For example, a certain Load Rule condition with a date range will conflict and collide with same Load Rule condition without a date range. Merging the two Load Rules is not possible unless you accept one instance and discard the other.

 

To resolve a conflict from the Merge Changes window:

  1. Click the eye icon to reveal the conflicting changes.
    conflict their and yours.png

     

  2. Read the configurations and determine which instance you wish to keep.
  3. Click the Use this bar to move your desired change into the Accepted Changes column. Unaccepted changes will be discarded before merging.
    accepted column.png

     

  4. Proceed to merge then Save/Publish your version.

 

Troubleshooting merging issues 

Not able to merge? The merging operation may fail if the user lacks certain permissions in the account, or when linked libraries are present in the version. More details are available in the troubleshooting guide.