This article shows how to use the merge feature to combine changes from two versions of your iQ profile.

Table of Contents Placeholder

Introduction

The "Merge changes into current session" feature comes in handy when you have to bring changes from an old version into the currently-published version. It could be that you were testing the old version in Dev or QA environments and it is finally ready to be merged into the Prod environment. Using this built-in feature you can handpick older changes, merge them in the current version, and continue to save/publish as usual.

This feature does not support Profile Inheritance (Libraries).

merge version dropdown.png

Show Version Relationship

Enabling this checkbox in the Versions tab lights up the origin path, showing how each version is related to the other versions in the publish history. Why is it important? The origin path is your visual guide for determining which versions you can or cannot merge.

 

show relationship.png 

How it works

Two versions can be merged only if they have branched away from the same origin or ancestor. What does this mean? Take a moment to trace the path of publish history in your profile. You will notice that saved (overwritten) versions have lined up in the same origin path whereas saved-as versions have branched away into distinct paths. Merging is possible only when the versions--current and incoming--are present in distinct paths.

Here's a sample publish history with the #2 as the current version.

 

example screenshots.png

 

As you can see,

  • Version #1 is NOT in the same path as #2, which means they can be merged. This is also true for version #1.1.
  • Version #2 and the initial publish are lined up in the same path, which is why they cannot be merged.

Merging changes into current session

  1. In the Versions tab, identify the version you want to merge. Changes from that version are treated as "incoming" changes.

    Make sure that the incoming and current versions are in distinct origin paths.

    Drop down the arrow next to the incoming version and click on "Merge changes into current session".
  2. merge version dropdown.png
  3. In the next window, select the changes you wish to add, update, or remove in the current version.
    incoming changes merge versions.png
  4. Review and confirm the changes. Then click the "Merge" button to complete the merge.
  5. Save/Publish the current version. You have the option to perform a Save or a Save As.

Watch a quick video tutorial on how to merge changes between concurrent users:

Here's another quick video tutorial on how to merge changes between versions:

Resolving Merge Conflicts

Conflicts arise if the versions contain two distinct instances of the same Tealium iQ element. For example, a certain Load Rule condition with a date range in the old version will conflict and collide with same Load Rule condition without a date range in the current version. Merging them is not possible unless you accept one instance of the element and discard the other.

 

To resolve a conflict from the Merge Changes window,

 

  1. Click the eye icon to reveal the conflicting changes.
    use this slider.png

     

  2. Read the configurations and determine which instance you wish to keep.
  3. Click the "Use this" bar to move your desired change into the "Accepted Column". Unaccepted changes will be discarded before merging.
    accepted column.png

     

  4. Click Next and review the final changes before merging.
  5. Click "Merge" and proceed to Save/Publish your version.

Resolving Merge Errors

The following are common errors, and their solutions:

 

Alert Message: "Version cannot be merged"

version cannot be merged.png

This message informs you that the version cannot be merged because it is lined up in the same origin path as the current version. (how is the origin path related to merging?) You will notice this message for other versions that are also lined up in the same path.

Solution: Make sure that the current and incoming versions belong to distinct origin paths. (More details in Merge-into-current-session.)

Alert Message: "Cannot Merge Version"

cannot merge-save first.png

This message appears when you attempt to merge any unsaved or pending changes, whether they are in the current or incoming versions.

Solution: Save/Publish the version in question before proceeding to merge. 

Alert Message: "Unable to Merge"

This alert informs you that the merge operation has failed due to one or more reasons. Here are the possibilities:

  • "You do not have the permission to edit JavaScript Extensions"

js permission error.png

This indicates certain changes contain one or more JavaScript Extensions that you are not permitted to access or edit. This error may occur when merging between versions or between concurrent users

Solution: Make sure you are granted the "Manage Javascript Code Extension" permissions by your account admin.

manage js perm.png

  • "You do not have permissions to resource locks."

RL error.png

This indicates that certain changes are secured by Resource Locks. You cannot perform the merge operation unless you have the required permissions to access or edit any resource locks. This error may occur when merging between versions or between concurrent users.

Solution: Make sure you are granted the "Manage Resource locks" permission by your account admin.

labels perm missing.png

 

 

  • "Current version is linked to the library"

linked library error.png 

This informs you that one of the versions, either current or incoming, is still linked to a library. This scenario may occur when you attempt to merge between versions. Remember-merging is NOT supported for linked libraries.

Solution: Make sure to unlink the libraries from both current and incoming versions. To do that, go to Account Admin >> Manage Profiles and click "Remove" next to the library that needs to be unlinked.

Alert Message: Sorry you don't have the required permission to perform this action...

save perm error.png

Solution: Contact your Account Manager for further assistance.

 

Tags (2)