The Workflow Management feature activates a workflow process where all publishes to the Prod require approval. Users without permission to publish to Prod can submit a publish request to Prod for approval by users with permission to publish to Prod. If approved, the changes will go to Prod, otherwise no publish occurs.
In this article:
When Workflow Management is disable (default setting) the Prod publish target is only available to users with permission to use it.
When this feature is enabled the Prod publish target becomes available to any user with either the Publish to Dev or Publish to QA permission. These users are called submitters because they submit requests to publish to Prod. When such a user submits a version to publish to Prod, it is sent to a queue of pending publishes where it must be reviewed before it will actually publish. Users with the Publish to Prod permission will be notified of the pending request and can approve or decline the submitted version. These users are called approvers.
While a version is pending approval, only approvers will be able to save changes to it. For this reason it is important for submitters to always perform a Save as when publishing to Prod.
These steps summarize the workflow:
Setting up workflow management is a two-step process:
To enable Workflow Management for your profile:
The workflow process depends on two types of users: submitters and approvers. The following steps describe how to adjust user permissions for these types of users.
Submitters are users that cannot publish directly to Prod, but instead must have their changes approved through the workflow process. Submitters must have the Publish to Prod Environment permission removed. The Publish to QA Environment and Publish to Dev/Custom Environment settings should remain checked.
To adjust user permissions for a submitter:
Approvers are users that can publish directly to Prod and will be responsible for reviewing pending publishes to Prod. Approvers must have the Publish to Prod Environment permission enabled. Try to limit the number of approvers in your profile because every time a request for publish is submitted, all approvers will receive the email notification.
To adjust user permissions for an approver:
Once you've enabled Workflow Management and set the publish permissions for your users, you are ready to see it in action. Below is an example of the workflow process when Workflow Management is enabled.
When a submitter makes changes they may save and publish to the Dev and QA environments freely. However, publishing to Prod requires approval.
To submit a request to publish to Prod:
If Save is selected, the current version will become locked for all submitters.
You will notice a red box appear next to the Save/Publish button indicating that the publish is pending approval.
After a Save as and a request to publish to Prod has been sent, submitters may no longer make changes to that pending version until the request has been approved or declined.
After a user has submitted a publish request, all approvers will receive an email regarding the request. Follow the instructions in the email to navigate to the console and review the request.
To approve or decline the publish request: