Back

Not able to merge changes? Help is here! This guide will help you diagnose the issue and tell you how to resolve it.

Which of these errors are you looking to resolve?

 

Alert Message: Version cannot be merged

 

version cannot be merged.png

 

This message informs you that the version cannot be merged because it is lined up in the same origin path as the current version. (how is the origin path related to merging?) You will notice this message for other versions that are also lined up in the same path.

Solution: Make sure that the current and incoming versions belong to distinct origin paths. (more details in Merge-into-current-session)

 

Alert Message: Cannot Merge Version

 

cannot merge-save first.png

 

This message appears when you attempt to merge any unsaved or pending changes, whether they are in the current or incoming versions.

Solution: Save/Publish the version in question before proceeding to merge.

 

Alert Message: Unable to Merge

 

This alert informs you that the merge operation has failed due to one or more reasons. Here are the possibilities:

 

  • "You do not have the permission to edit JavaScript Extension"

js permission error.png

 

This indicates certain changes contain one or more JavaScript Extensions that you are NOT permitted to access or edit. This error may occur when merging between versions or between concurrent users.

 

Solution: Make sure you are granted the "Manage Javascript Code Extension" permissions by your account admin.

 

manage js perm.png

 

 

  • "You do not have permissions to resource locks"

RL error.png

 

This indicates that certain changes are secured by Resource Locks. You cannot perform the merge operation unless you have the required permissions to access or edit any resource locks. This error may occur when merging between versions or between concurrent users.

 

Solution: Make sure you are granted the "Manage Resource locks" permission by your account admin.

 

labels perm missing.png

 

 

  • "Current version is linked to the library"

linked library error.png

 

This informs you that one of the versions, either current or incoming, is still linked to a library. This scenario may occur when you attempt to merge between versions. Remember-merging is NOT supported for linked libraries.

Solution: Make sure to unlink the libraries from both current and incoming versions. To do that, go to Account Admin >> Manage Profiles and click "Remove" next to the library that needs to be unlinked.

 

 

 

 

Alert Message: Sorry you don't have the required permission to perform this action,........

 

save perm error.png

 

This message tells you that merge has failed because you are possibly missing the permissions to "Save" and/or "Save As". in the account.

Solution: Make sure you are granted both permissions by your account admin.

 

manage save permission.png