This article describes how to view and manage your product version history.

In this article:

Table of Contents Placeholder

How it Works

In the sidebar, click Client-Side Versions to view an easy-to-understand display of your version history, including published saves, unpublished saves, and the currently displayed version.WhiteUI_TiQ_ClientSideVersionOverviewUserMasked.png

  • Previous versions display as gray folders and current versions display in blue.
  • Iterations of the same version display on the same level, whereas new versions display on a new level.

Dashboard Filters

You can filter which versions display by checking one or more of the following filters:

  • Version title (default is timestamp)
  • Users
  • Version labels
  • Default publish environments (Dev, QA, Prod, and Custom)
  • Published/Unpublished saves
  • Time range (in days)

WhiteUI_TiQ_ClientSideVersionFilters_MaskUser.png

Version Options

Once a version is published, you quickly perform simple tasks for the selected version.

WhiteUI_TiQ_Versions_ExpandHideDetails.png

Click the down arrow next a version title and select one of the following options:

  • Switch to this Version
    Click on another version. Use this option to load other (prior and subsequent) versions. Switching to a different version automatically moves the pin icon next to the title of the version being viewed.
  • Expand/Hide Details
    Displays the publish timestamp, environments and username of the user that  published the version. Use this option to view and download the utag files for each environment. 
  • Rename
    Rename the version to a more descriptive title.
  • Make a Copy
    Allows you to duplicate the current version. Duplicating a version saves it and adds  "Duplicate of... " to the beginning of the version name. It does not automatically publish. You can switch back to the saved version and perform a publish.
  • Show Notes since this Version
    Displays the notes for the version in question as well as its subsequent publishes. Notes are sorted in the order of their publish. Notes for the saved versions are indented within their parent version.

Merge Changes into Current Session

This option only displays if there are change available to merge into the current session. Click to merge a prior version into the current version. Both the incoming and current versions must  originate from the same origin or ancestor. To determine which versions you can or cannot merge, select the Show Version Relationship filter in the dashboard. The version list is highlighted to show how each version is related to the others.

Version Control

Save vs. Save As

There are two methods for saving changes, Save and Save As, and the distinction between the two (explained below) is important. For either option, click the Save/Publish button in the upper right corner of the sreen. Before saving you must add notes and select which environment(s) to publish to. If you do not specify an environment, your version will be an "Unpublished Save".

WhiteUI_TiQ_SavePublish_Notes and Publish To.png

Save

When you perform a Save, you overwrite the current settings and configurations for the selected version. Previous settings become unrecoverable. Any Save you make is recorded in the Versions interface. Published versions display as a dark gray folder and unpublished versions display as a light gray folder. Iterations of a version are displayed on the same version level.

Save As

When you perform a Save As, a new version is created and the the folder icon representing the version displays appears on a new level, separate from the previous version. If you need to rollback to the previous version, it is still available with all of its settings.

Publish a Previous Version

You can switch back to a previous version of your account and republish it to any environment. The republished version will contain the configurations or settings of the old version.

Use the following steps to switch back to a previous version:

  1. Go to iQ Tag Management > Client-Side Versions.
    All versions display: Published, Unpublished, and Currently Deployed. A blue pin icon indicates the current verson. Blue buttons indicate currently deployed versions whereas gray buttons point to older versions.
    WhiteUI_TiQ_Versions_CurrentVersionPin.png
  2. Click the down arrrow on the previous version desired and select Switch to this version.
    The following alert message displays at the top of the sreen:
    You are viewing an old version. Switch to the latest version: Version Name
  3. Click Save/Publish in the top-right corner of the console.
  4. Select an environment in which to republish: Dev, QA, or Prod.
  5. Add notes about the changes made to the version.
  6. Click Save As andthen click the Publish button to confirm.
    WhiteUI_TiQ_Versions_BluePin Moves to Latest Saved Version.png
    The blue pin icon moves to display next to the version published.

View the utag.js File for an Environment

Use the following steps to access the utag.js file for a version that is currently deployed,

  1. In the currently published version, click the down arrow and select Expand Details.
  2. Click the down arrow to the left of Dev Publish Details to expand.
  3. Click View utag.js.
    WhiteUI_TiQ_Versions_ViewPublishDetails_View utag_js.png
    The corresponding utag.js file opens in a new tab.

Using the Diff Tool

Use the DIff tool to compare any two published versions and review the code changes from their Distro files. Code revisions between versions are highlighted and presented side by side, making it a easy to distinguish the changes.

WhiteUI_TiQ_DistroFileComparison.png

For additonal details, see the Diff Tool article.

Merging Changes Between Two Versions

Merging Changes is a built-in feature that makes it easy to bring changes from an older version into the currently-published version. You can only merge two versions if they have branched away from the same origin or ancestor. To learn more, see Merge into current session.

WhiteUI_TiQ_Versions_Merge Into Current Session.png

Tags (1)